A Quick Guide to Legal Window Tints in Nevada
Residing in Nevada and owning a car with only factory-tinted windows simply does not cut it. The sun still finds its way into your vehicle and makes your ride uncomfortable. Fortunately, adding an extra layer of shade to your vehicle’s windows can fix everything. But before you move forward with this modification, familiarize yourself with a quick guide to legal window tints in Nevada.
Window Tint Darkness in Nevada
Visible Light Transmission (VLT) discusses the percentage of visible light allowed through your car windows. Nevada law explicitly states the rate of light allowed through your film and glass for sedans, SUVs, and vans. It’s essential to know the specifics for each vehicle model before deciding on your car window tinting in Las Vegas.
The tint darkness for sedans on a windshield needs a non-reflective tint above the manufacturer’s AS-1 line. AS-1 lines are parallel to the top of your car’s windshield, a line five inches underneath and parallel to the top of your car’s windshield. The front side windows must allow more than 35 percent of light in, but the back windows and rear windows can use any darkness.
The tint darkness for SUVs and vans essentially follows the same set of rules as sedans. The windshield needs a non-reflective tint above the AS-1 line, and the front side windows need to allow more than 35 percent of the light in, but the back and rear windows can use any tint.
Window Tint Reflection in Nevada
So many people add a window tint to their vehicles because it reflects incoming light and reduces glare and heat. In Nevada, we know how staggering the heat can get.
Nevada law authorizes certain reflective window tints. The current law shows no reference to reflectivity for sedan front-side windows and backside windows. The same rules apply to SUVs, vans, and trucks.
Other Rules and Regulations
In terms of tint variance, the state law allows 7 percent of light transmission tolerance, and if you require a special tint for medical purposes, you can apply for a medical exemption. To get this exemption, you must have a letter from your doctor that explicitly states the medical reason for your window tint. Keep this letter with you whenever you get behind the wheel of your car.
Even though Nevada permits window tints, you do not have permission to use all colors on your car. You can use gray, green, and bronze car window tint without any issue. Red and amber are not permitted. If your back windows are tinted, your vehicle must have dual side mirrors for safety purposes.
Lastly, make sure the dealer installing the film has a certificate authorizing them to sell in the state of Nevada. If you are not sure, ask them to verify their certification.
Here at Blackjack Window Tinting, we follow this legal guide to window tinting in Nevada. We have the authorization and certification to sell and manufacture our film. Check out the deals on our website and get your car ready for the summer.